top of page

Push-push! and other stories


David Philip Publishers, 1996

ISBN-10: 0-86486-304-7       

ISBN-13: 978-0-86486-304-1 

Available at all leading bookstores or directly from: 


New Africa Books

1st Floor, 6 Spin Street, Cape Town 8001

Telephone: 021 4675860  

Fax: 0214675895



Purchase Online


Book Depository




The second collection of short stories by Sindiwe Magona follows Living, Loving and Lying Awake at Night which together with her autobiographical To My Children’s Children and Forced to Grow, has widely acclaimed not only in south Africa but also I the UK and USA. These new stories, rich in the detail of their varied backgrounds, range in location from rural Transkei and township life in the Cape to central New York. They have in common also, as before, Magona’s perceptive and vivid creation of memorable characters, whether hilarious or tragic.




"Sindiwe Magona claims for herself a special place. . . . The keen intelligence, the verve, the compassion, and the stylistic self-assurance that have marked her writing, and [a] crisp sense of character, [lend] a hard gleam to the stories in Push-Push!"

— André Brink, author of A Dry White Season


"Magona's tales in Push-Push! and Other Stories are as diverse in their backgrounds as they are rich in their themes and memorable characters. . . . Written in polished and moving language, this collection is an entertaining and insightful read."

— Sam Mathe, Pace Magazine


"Sindiwe Magona's [writing] is like holding a handful of bright African beads; each tale and her telling of it is part of the treasure; you are affected and altered."

— Argus

Copyright © 2014 Sindiwe Magona  

bottom of page